Skip to content
Medical Health Aged Care

Dr Fei Sim re-elected as National President

Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA) 2 mins read

The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA) has re-elected Dr Fei Sim FPS as National President and Chair of the National Board in Canberra today.

The Board also elected Caroline Diamantis MPS and Benjamin Marchant MPS as National Vice-Presidents for the term beginning 1 July 2023. Dr Shane Jackson FPS was also appointed to lead PSA’s approach to the Community Pharmacy Agreement and will remain a part of the Board executive.  

PSA Interim Chief Executive Officer Nick Foster welcomed incoming Board Directors Dr Natalie Soulsby FPS, Amanda Cross MPS and Helen Benson MPS.

“I am excited at to work with a PSA board with such a wealth of experience across all sectors of pharmacy,” Mr Foster said.

“I particularly welcome new Directors Dr Natalie Soulsby, Amanda Cross and Helen Benson, who are all experienced, passionate pharmacists who bring a wealth of experience to our organisation. 

“PSA is proud to welcome a Board that reflects our profession, with more than half of our incoming Board being women.

“I look forward to working closely with the newly appointed Board and our re-elected President to best support Australia’s pharmacists.”

Dr Sim, who was first elected as President in June 2021, said it was an honour to be re‑elected and continue her advocacy for pharmacists during a time of rapid change.

“Despite the challenges that our profession faces, I am confident in the future of our profession,” Dr Sim said.

“With the support of the PSA Board, we continue to work toward a future that recognises the skills and expertise of pharmacists and allows us to practice to our top of scope.

“This is my priority and the priority of our entire team.

“Thank you, PSA members, for your support. I am humbled and proud to be able to continue leading you and our profession.

“I would also like to thank retiring Board members Michelle Lynch FPS, Warwick Plunkett FPS, Andrew Sluggett FPS, and Deanna Mill MPS for their service to our profession,” Dr Sim concluded.

The incoming Board of Directors includes:

  • Dr Fei Sim FPS, National President (Western Australia)
  • Caroline Diamantis MPS, National Vice-President (New South Wales)
  • Benjamin Marchant MPS, National Vice-President (Victoria)
  • Dr Shane Jackson FPS, Board Executive member (Tasmania)
  • Helen Benson MPS, Board Director (New South Wales)
  • Amanda Cross MPS, Board Director (Victoria)
  • Prof. Mark Naunton MPS, Board Director (Australian Capital Territory)
  • Dr Natalie Soulsby FPS, Board Director (South Australia)
  • Bridget Totterman MPS, Board Director (Queensland)

New appointments will commence on 1 July 2023.


Media contact:   Georgia Clarke   M: 0480 099 798      E:

The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia is the only national peak body that represents all of Australia’s 36,000 pharmacists across all practice settings. We want every Australian to have access to the best healthcare, and this must include optimising access to pharmacists’ knowledge and medicines expertise at the forefront of our healthcare system.

More from this category

  • Environment, Medical Health Aged Care
  • 01/12/2023
  • 10:43
West Australian doctors peak bodies

WA doctors and health professionals call for the government to take urgent action on climate change and end fossil fuel expansion to protect health

On the 1st December, just prior to the COP28 Health Day on the 3rd December, representatives of the medical colleges for general practitioners (GPs), emergency doctors, rural and remote doctors, and surgeons, as well as other doctors and health professionals, gather at 8 am on the steps of Parliament House to call on the WA Government take urgent action on climate change and protect the health of Western Australians. Reiterating calls from medical colleges earlier this year in support of ending fossil fuel expansion and climate action, those gathered today ask the WA government to: End expansion of any new…

  • Medical Health Aged Care
  • 01/12/2023
  • 10:12
Australian Dental Industry Association

ADIA congratulates Senators of the Inquiry into the Provision of and Access to Dental Services in Australia

1 December The Australian Dental Industry Association congratulates the Senators of the Senate Select Committee Inquiry into the Provision of and Access to Dental…

  • Contains:
  • Medical Health Aged Care, Research Development
  • 01/12/2023
  • 09:17

Aegros Releases Top-Line Interim Clinical Trial Results of its COVID-19 Hyperimmune

Aegros Releases Top-Line Interim Clinical Trial Results of its COVID-19 Hyperimmune Aegros, an Australian clinical-stage biopharmaceutical company leader in the development and manufacture of plasma derived medicinal products (PDMPs), today announced positive top-line interim results from its CHAT clinical trial. Top-line interim results indicate that Aegros’ COVID-19 hyperimmune provides higher levels of antibodies compared to high-titer convalescent plasma. These results are in line with Aegros’ pre-clinical expectations. CHAT compared Aegros’ COVID-19 hyperimmune to COVID-19 convalescent plasma. The hyperimmune was manufactured using Aegros’ patented Haemafrac® process. A hyperimmune is an intravenous immunoglobulin rich in antibodies that can provide passive immunity for…

Media Outreach made fast, easy, simple.

Feature your press release on Medianet's News Hub every time your distribute with Medianet. Pay per release or save with a subscription.