Skip to content
Education Training

AHISA welcomes the appointment of new leaders to APPA and ASPA

Association of Heads of Independent Schools of Australia 2 mins read
AHISA CEO Dr Chris Duncan


7 June 2023

The Association of Heads of Independent Schools of Australia (AHISA) congratulates Ms Angela Falkenberg on her appointment as President of the Australian Primary Principals Association (APPA) and Mr Andy Mison on his appointment as President of the Australian Secondary Principals’ Association (ASPA).

“AHISA looks forward to working with Angela and Andy, particularly through our relationship with the Coalition of Australian Principals,” said Dr Chris Duncan, CEO of AHISA. “We also acknowledge the immense contribution that Andrew Pierpoint, outgoing President of ASPA, and Malcolm Elliot, former President of ASPA, have made to schools and school leadership in Australia.”

The Coalition of Australian Principals (CAP) was formed in 2021 with Andrew Pierpoint and Malcolm Elliot as co-convenors. It was created to amplify the voices of Australian Principals from across all school sectors.

“Being part of the coalition enables national principals’ associations to advocate from a position of combined strength on issues that affect students, teachers and school leaders,” said Dr Duncan.

“The collaboration that happens across all members of the CAP allows us to communicate a united message that supports Australian Principals in their vital and challenging roles,” said Dr Duncan. “At the same time, we offer the Australian Government and its agencies access to an exceptional pool of leadership experience and knowledge of what works in Australian schools, for the benefit of all school children across Australia.”




About us:

AHISA is a professional association of 460 Heads of independent schools. Its members lead schools that collectively account for over 11 per cent of total Australian school enrolments, 70 per cent of independent sector enrolments and 20 per cent of total Australian Year 12 enrolments.

Members of CAP are: Association of Heads of Independent Schools Australia (AHISA); Australian Primary Principals Association (APPA); Australian Secondary Principals' Association (ASPA); Australian Special Education Principals' Association (ASEPA); Catholic Secondary Principals Australia (CaSPA); and National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Principals Association (NATSIPA). Mr Matthew Johnson, National President of ASEPA, is the current Chair of CAP.

AHISA National Office: Unit 123, 20 Anzac Park, Campbell ACT 2612; ABN 99 006 107 124; telephone (02) 6247 7300; email

Contact details:

Dr Chris Duncan, AHISA CEO, mobile 0408 890 885


Media Outreach made fast, easy, simple.

Feature your press release on Medianet's News Hub every time your distribute with Medianet. Pay per release or save with a subscription.