Skip to content
Transport Automotive

2023 Australasian Rail Industry Awards winners announced

Australasian Railway Association 2 mins read



*Images in link below

The winners of the Australasian Rail Industry (ARI) Awards highlight the extraordinary depth of talent and innovation in the Australian and New Zealand rail sector.

Australasian Railway Association (ARA) Chief Executive Officer and ARI Awards judging chair Caroline Wilkie said almost 800 people gathered in Melbourne on Wednesday night to congratulate the 16 winners of the highly anticipated awards.

“The ARI awards celebrate the incredible organisations and individuals who have gone above and beyond to ensure we continue to deliver a high-quality rail network that is safe, efficient, innovative and sustainable,” Ms Wilkie said.

“The talent of this year’s nominees reflects an industry that is working harder and smarter as we forge ahead on a once-in-a-generation $154 billion pipeline of projects to support greater use of rail across our passenger and freight networks.”

The 2023 awards featured 16 categories recognising individuals, organisations and rail projects in the areas of diversity and inclusion, sustainability, passenger, infrastructure, innovation, supply, customer experience, freight, signalling and systems engineering and safety. 

Arc Infrastructure Senior Stakeholder Relations Advisor Kevin Reeves won the Career Achievement Award in recognition of his significant contribution to the industry.

“Mr Reeves has enjoyed a distinguished, 50-year career that embodies the passion and dedication of a true rail enthusiast,” Ms Wilkie said.

The Awards also featured a range of individual awards for emerging leaders and young rail professionals.

The Emerging Rail Specialist Award was awarded to Mott MacDonald Chartered Electrical Engineer Kirshan Pillai, the Young Achiever Award went to John Holland Site Engineer Benson Wong, the Young Rail Professional Award was awarded to ARUP Senior Track Design Engineer Ryan Spooner and the Signalling and Systems Engineering Award was awarded to Moemedi Goitsemang, Technical Executive – Rail at WSP.

“I would like to congratulate these winners who have all shone early in their career through their commitment and dedication to exemplary practices, innovative solutions and driving real change in the rail industry,” Ms Wilkie said.

The Awards are supported by the Australasian Railway Association, Institution of Railway Signal Engineers, Railway Technical Society of Australia, Rail Track Association Australia, the Rail Industry Safety and Standards Board and the Permanent Way Institution (NSW). 


Note to editors: Full list of winners attached.


Images of the winners can be found here:

Contact details:

Further information

Natasha Wallace
Senior Strategic Communications Manager
0499 272 672,


More from this category

  • Transport Automotive
  • 05/12/2023
  • 02:07
AELF FlightService

AJ Issenman Joins AELF FlightService as Director of Capital Markets

CHICAGO, IL / ACCESSWIRE / December 4, 2023 / AELF announced today that it has welcomed Alexander "AJ" Issenman to the company as Director of Capital Markets. Issenman joins AELF from Seabury Capital, where he served as a Director at Seabury Capital Management focusing on merchant banking and capital markets transactions across the aviation, aerospace and defense sectors within the merchant banking and capital markets group."We are grateful to add AJ to our team as we seek to broaden the reach of our leasing business," said Victoria Ricks, spokesperson for AELF. "AJ's background and experience make him a great addition…

  • Environment, Transport Automotive
  • 30/11/2023
  • 06:50
Electric Vehicle Council

New calculator gives Australian drivers real information on EV v ICE emissions

A new online calculator will launch today, giving Australian drivers a fair and accurate comparison of how much carbon they will prevent from entering the atmosphere as a result of selecting an EV over a petrol or hybrid vehicle.The Electric Vehicle Council’s new lifecycle emissions calculator compares the amount of emissions that EVs, petrol and hybrid cars produce from cradle to grave, based on factors including production, fuel lifecycle, and recycling.It displays the vehicles’ CO2 emissions per kilometre and total lifetime emissions using electricity from the grid which changes for each state and territory.Comparison of EVs and petrol vehicles: Total…

  • Transport Automotive
  • 27/11/2023
  • 15:59
Joylong Australia


Joylong’s electric commuter bus has just had its first independent road test, and the results are impressive. Truck journalist David Meredith ran his experienced…

  • Contains:

Media Outreach made fast, easy, simple.

Feature your press release on Medianet's News Hub every time your distribute with Medianet. Pay per release or save with a subscription.