Skip to content
Environment, Local Government

Tweed Mayor crowned national climate ambassador of the year

Cities Power Partnership | Climate Council 2 mins read
Tweed Shire Mayor Chris Cherry



TWEED MAYOR Chris Cherry took out top honours for her work on the climate change frontline at the national Cities Power Partnership Awards last night.


Mayor Cherry was this year’s Climate Ambassador award winner in recognition of her leadership driving climate action and keeping climate on the national agenda in the wake of 2022/23 floods and flood recovery.

The Cities Power Partnership Awards recognise the work of climate heroes in local governments across the country who are transforming Australia’s energy landscape.

Tweed Shire Council Mayor Chris Cherry said she was honoured to win the Climate Ambassador Award.

“Over the last five years, our region has seen back-to-back devastating climate fuelled floods, drought, and bushfires. We need to take every opportunity to help people understand that climate change is worsening these events, and that we have power to make a difference,” she said. 

“The time for taking action on climate is now, and our communities will be healthier and more resilient for it.

“At Tweed Shire Council we are on track to achieve net zero by 2030 for our operations, which is no mean feat when you consider we are a water and wastewater authority and they are traditionally very heavy power users.”


Dr Portia Odell, director of the Cities Power Partnership, congratulated Mayor Cherry on her award, noting that she shone in a competitive field of entrants.

“It is hard to imagine a more committed, consistent and passionate climate ambassador than Mayor Cherry. She was an early champion of climate change, and has continued to make  tremendous inroads elevating climate change as a priority on a local, national and global scale,” Dr Odell said. 

The Cities Power Partnership Awards celebrated outstanding work from local governments in the fields including, renewable energy, energy efficiency, collaboration and innovation.



Energy Efficiency Achievement Award
Winner: Brimbank City Council, VIC - Brimbank Aquatic and Wellness Centre
Highly commended: Merri-bek City Council, VIC - Solar Thermal Program  

Climate Champion Award (council staff)
Winner: Logan City Council, QLD - Health, Environment and Waste Branch staff
Highly commended: Katie Biggs, Shire of Augusta Margaret River’s Sustainability Planning Officer, WA

Collaboration Award
Winner: Yarra City Council, VIC - Business Renewables Buying Group
Highly commended: City of Greater Bendigo, VIC - Greater Bendigo Climate Collaboration

Innovation Award
Winner: ACT Government - Australian-first Household Electrification Digital Experience 

Climate Ambassador Award (elected representative)
Winner: Tweed Shire Council, NSW - Mayor Chris Cherry

Battler Award

Winner: Shoalhaven City Council, NSW - Climate Resilient Shoalhaven: Battling bushfires, floods and storms

Renewable Energy Achievement Award
Winner: City of Mitcham, SA - Community Renewables Program

Community Choice Award
Winner: City of Mitcham, SA - Community Renewables Program

For more information contact Victoria on 0431 314 047 or 





The Cities Power Partnership awards recognise councils demonstrating climate mitigation action across the listed 38 action pledge items under the Cities Power Partnership. Each of the 8 categories were judged to ensure their respective criteria were met. 


  • Hollie Cheung Researcher, Climate Council

  • Professor Josh Byrne Dean of Sustainable Futures, Faculty of Humanities, Curtin University

  • Liz Owen Director, Jaragun Ecoservice

  • Jerome Laxale MP Member for Bennelong & former City of Ryde Mayor



Media Outreach made fast, easy, simple.

Feature your press release on Medianet's News Hub every time you distribute with Medianet. Pay per release or save with a subscription.