Skip to content
Medical Health Aged Care

Update to National Palliative Care Standards released

Palliative Care Australia 2 mins read

At a key moment in Australia’s health reform journey, the long-standing benchmark for the delivery of quality palliative care has been updated. 

“Our National Standards for Specialist Palliative Care Services have played a key role in strengthening the sector’s work and delivering quality of life to patients and families for over 15 years,” says Chelsea Menchin, National Projects Manager, Palliative Care Australia (PCA). 

“After a limited scope review, we are proud to launch Edition 5.1 of the standards during National Palliative Care Week.” 

This update comes 5 years after the last review (2018) of the Standards and incorporates simplified, more user-friendly self-assessment tools that services can work through as they embed the nine standards into their ways of working. 

The nine standards cover a range of areas: 

  1. Assessment of needs
  2. Developing a care plan
  3. Caring for carers
  4. Providing care
  5. Transitions within and between services
  6. Grief and Bereavement
  7. Service Culture
  8. Quality Improvement
  9. Staff Qualifications and Training

 “We are really grateful to the Expert Working Group who over the last 18 months have drawn on their own experience working with the standards to shape this timely update,” Ms Menchin says. 

 “Apart from the new checklist approach to the Palliative Care Self-Assessment (PaCSA) tool, Edition 5.1 has been mapped to the updated National Safety and Quality Healthcare Standards 2nd Ed. (2021), and the updated National Consensus Statement: Essential elements for safe high-quality end-of-life care (2023).” 

Additional standards and frameworks will be mapped in the future, including to the new Aged Care Standards and Closing the Gap recommendations. 

The National Palliative Care Standards for Specialist Palliative Care Services Edition 5.1, also sit alongside PCA’s National Palliative Care Standards for All Health Professionals and Aged Care Services – which are focused on better experiences and outcomes for people receiving generalist palliative care within an aged care or primary health setting. 

“For the health professionals and volunteers who deliver palliative care, the care they deliver is underpinned by the Standards which are a tangible framework for services to operate within and work towards,” says Camilla Rowland, Chief Executive Officer, PCA. 

“At a time when governments at all levels are looking to deepen the ongoing reforms happening across the heath and care sectors, these updated standards reinforce the need to put palliative care at the heart of future investments and service delivery.”  

The National Palliative Care Standards for Specialist Palliative Care Services Edition 5.1 as well as the Palliative Care Self-Assessment checklists and service stories are available to download HERE. 

Other relevant resources:  

Contact details:

Ian Campbell

P: 0417 482 171



More from this category

  • General News, Medical Health Aged Care
  • 13/06/2024
  • 14:48
Australian Chiropractors Assoication

99.6% of Australian parents affirmed chiropractic healthcare benefitted their child

FOR IMMEDIATE DISTRIBUTION Thursday 13 June 2024 99.6% of Australian parents affirmed chiropractic healthcare benefitted their child Today, the Australian Chiropractors Association (ACA) president,…

  • Contains:
  • Medical Health Aged Care, Seniors Interest
  • 13/06/2024
  • 11:07
Centre for Healthy Brain Ageing (CHeBA), UNSW Sydney

Dementia Expert Honoured with Lifetime Achievement Award

At the 2024 Australian Dementia Research Forum, Co-Director of the Centre for Healthy Brain Ageing (CHeBA) Professor Henry Brodaty AO was acknowledged for his…

  • Contains:
  • Business Company News, Medical Health Aged Care
  • 13/06/2024
  • 10:42
Firebrick Pharma

Firebrick Pharma (ASX:FRE) launches Nasodine in Singapore

Firebrick Pharma Limited (ASX:FRE) (Firebrick, Company) is proud to announce that itsproduct, Nasodine® Nasal Spray (“Nasodine”), is now available for sale in Singapore. Customers will be able to order the product through Firebrick’s new website dedicated tosupport Singapore sales: In Singapore,Nasodine is classified as a topical antiseptic and does not require approval orlicensing by Singapore’s Heath Sciences Authority (HSA) before sale. However, anyadvertisements to Singapore consumers need prior approval by the HSA. Firebrick receivedapproval from the HSA for its consumer advertisements on 12 June 2024. Nasodine will be the first PVP-I nasal spray available in the region and therefore…

  • Contains:

Media Outreach made fast, easy, simple.

Feature your press release on Medianet's News Hub every time you distribute with Medianet. Pay per release or save with a subscription.